Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: whats the proper way to run 2 amps ??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,181
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default whats the proper way to run 2 amps ??

    one for the doors and deck and the other just for 2 10 inch pioneer woofers. every time i hook up the bok with my bigger watt amp. (1000w) i get the wine in the speakers. but when it is off nothing. but when i put a surpressor on the big amp it's all good. but takes away from the subs. and the switch on the amp that i have to run the subs on without the surpessor it sounds like the cars muffs in the speakers box only.

    could it be the way i have the power wire run over the coil? or that the remote wire runs to the small amp and back to the big amp? so i ask what is the proper way to hook these two amps up and be happy. also i have the power wires on one side. the rca's on the otherside. and the remote down the middle. do i need to run beter rca'sor insalate my power? any ideas or help.

    Erik
    trick flow street heat intake , 24lbs injetors, ported GT-40's (Chip) long tube headers. and a Performance Automatic C4, with a hurst shifter!

  2. #2
    Pr0jeCt Guest

    Default Re: whats the proper way to run 2 amps ??

    power wire to the trunk, into a distrib block, then off to the amps.. either take some sort of 12 volt wire and loop it on each amp, from power in to the REM, or have a toggle switch inside the car. ( wire from power in on amp, to the switch, and one from the switch to the REM) on both amps

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Pasadena, MD
    Posts
    7,521
    Feedback Score
    7 (100%)

    Default Re: whats the proper way to run 2 amps ??

    youll have to run a 1 or 0 gauge wire to the trunk, where the distribution box is, unless you run a pair of power wires, then you can use whicher gauge wire your amp requires
    It's Gumby's fault.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,181
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re: whats the proper way to run 2 amps ??

    i was gonna run 4 gauge. but i never had this problem in my cougar. only my mustang. but then again i only ran my big amp in the cougar. thanks for the help. where can i get a distribtion block ?
    trick flow street heat intake , 24lbs injetors, ported GT-40's (Chip) long tube headers. and a Performance Automatic C4, with a hurst shifter!

  5. #5
    Pr0jeCt Guest

    Default Re: whats the proper way to run 2 amps ??

    most amp kits have them.. as extra parts for whatever ... Uh you could buy a nice new amp kit, or go to a local speaker shop and they should have em. Try murrarys auto also if u haver any of them around

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,181
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re: whats the proper way to run 2 amps ??

    i was checking some of them out all they do is split the power right like one 4ga. to two 8 ga. wires. i dont think thats my problem. but i dont know could it be that my cougar had more insilation. and the mustang doesnt which then the power wires could be picking up signals from the wire harness in the car ??? just an idea
    trick flow street heat intake , 24lbs injetors, ported GT-40's (Chip) long tube headers. and a Performance Automatic C4, with a hurst shifter!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    66
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re: whats the proper way to run 2 amps ??

    I had this same problem and it turned out to be my Head Unit. The most common problem has been the ground however. The ground need to be attached to bare metal. I have a hole drilled in my trunk for mine. Make sure there is no paint where your ground is. The next most popular culprit is the rca wires. If they have been pinched or bent too much, they could "go bad" I would run a new set of rca's inside the car with the motor off to see if that is the problem. If it makes noise with the engine off, it is the deck or the amp having problems. Next run the car with new rac's installed just laying on the seat or outside the car. If you only get noise when the car is running it is probably your ground. both amps should be ground at the same location. and yes you can bump the turn-on from one amp to trhe other. I had three amps, never a problem.
    Rockford sells a great dual amp kit with distro block included. cost about 150 but it's goot stuff. BTW you can get that amp kit for half that price on ebay.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Utah.
    Posts
    9,268
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

    Default Re: whats the proper way to run 2 amps ??

    I would go with 0 or 1 gauge wire with 1000watt amp. You will get slightly more power out of it even if thats not your problem. I'll bet it is a ground somewhere or pinched rca wires like stated above.
    Quote Originally Posted by jcassity
    I honestly dont think you could exceed the cost of a new car buy installing new *stock* parts everywhere in your coug our tbird. Its just plain impossible. You could revamp the entire drivetrain/engine/suspenstion and still come out ahead.
    Hooligans!
    1988 Crown Vic wagon. 120K California car. Wifes grocery getter. (junked)
    1987 Ford Thunderbird LX. 5.0. s.o., sn-95 t-5 and an f-150 clutch. Driven daily and going strong.
    1986 cougar.
    lilsammywasapunkrocker@yahoo.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,181
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default Re: whats the proper way to run 2 amps ??

    I would run a new set of rca's inside the car with the motor off to see if that is the problem. If it makes noise with the engine off, it is the deck or the amp having problems.
    not what i wanted to hear. i have this problem sounds like the amp is picking up the cd player spinning. im going to try shorter Rca's i can stand like 3 feet from the hatch with rca's in my hand and still more upfront. i hear this is bad also creates a magnettic feild or something like that . ands the 1000watt amp isnt a true 1000 it's like 500 true to the speakers
    trick flow street heat intake , 24lbs injetors, ported GT-40's (Chip) long tube headers. and a Performance Automatic C4, with a hurst shifter!

  10. #10
    honkeyboss Guest

    Default Re: whats the proper way to run 2 amps ??

    The easiest thing to try, I think would be moving the power wire away from the coil. You are probably hearing a "swishing sound" which can come form the engine ignition system. Try firing up the car and stereo and have someone move the power wire across the coil while it is running. Go back and forth and turn the cable across the long axis of the coil. By doing that you will change the E-M field that the cable is running through. If the static you are getting changes at all, the coil is probably your problem. In general, any wires for your audio system should be as far as possilbe from any turning, oscillating electrical part of the car. Wiper motors, turn signals, etc. should also be avoided.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •