Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: need to know what temp sender i need

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    milan michigan
    Posts
    580
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Default need to know what temp sender i need

    i need to know what temp sender i need of the digitl gage. the one i have now has just the one stem on top and not the plug but the thang is that the wire for it had only one plug so i dont know whats gong on?

    88 5.0L aod with duel flowmaster and speedo mod
    88 5.0L H.O with 5 speed R.I.P
    87 3.8L no trans. geting h.o and 5speed (project never ending thunder) started it as of 8-14-10
    96 bronco xl 5.0L 5 speed man4x4

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Gap Mills WV 24941
    Posts
    14,501
    Feedback Score
    15 (100%)

    Default

    its confussing the way you wrote that up but ill try to help.

    There is a temp sender= has a connnector plug on top , more than one pin.
    and
    there is a temp sensor, it has a single threaded stud sticking out.

    One runs the dash display

    the other gathers temp changes and reports that information to the EEC which inturn works all the magic that you cant see.

    In electrical tech, there are many wiring diagrams to be found.

    In my diy link, there are short cuts to most of them that I think can be helpful. Look for something like the EEC wiring or Dash layout and you will find the color wire that matches the problem you are having.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    milan michigan
    Posts
    580
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Default


    88 5.0L aod with duel flowmaster and speedo mod
    88 5.0L H.O with 5 speed R.I.P
    87 3.8L no trans. geting h.o and 5speed (project never ending thunder) started it as of 8-14-10
    96 bronco xl 5.0L 5 speed man4x4

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Gap Mills WV 24941
    Posts
    14,501
    Feedback Score
    15 (100%)

    Default

    ok
    the pic you posted is for an analog / needle guage., not digital.


    question
    does the sensor you talk about go on the driver side front of the intake to the right of the distributor looking at the motor?
    if so....
    there should be a two wire connector. One wire is black/white and the other is red/white. These two wires should transition back to a gray flat conector near the harness that leads to the AC.
    If that is the connector you have ,(two wire) then you need to tell them you have other options in your car such as climate control ect.



    If not and you only have a sensor with a single slip on boot, you are fine and that appears to be the correct temp sensor.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    milan michigan
    Posts
    580
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Default

    thank you just was look on it and found the other wire and now going to go get the right one

    88 5.0L aod with duel flowmaster and speedo mod
    88 5.0L H.O with 5 speed R.I.P
    87 3.8L no trans. geting h.o and 5speed (project never ending thunder) started it as of 8-14-10
    96 bronco xl 5.0L 5 speed man4x4

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    milan michigan
    Posts
    580
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Default

    any way i can get arond it, i cant find the right one, and i need the temp gage to know if it is going to over heat?

    88 5.0L aod with duel flowmaster and speedo mod
    88 5.0L H.O with 5 speed R.I.P
    87 3.8L no trans. geting h.o and 5speed (project never ending thunder) started it as of 8-14-10
    96 bronco xl 5.0L 5 speed man4x4

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Gap Mills WV 24941
    Posts
    14,501
    Feedback Score
    15 (100%)

    Default

    yes ,you can get the right one.

    ask for a coolant temp sending unit. There is another one mounted on your heater core bypass plumbing along the pass side intake.

    My best guess is they are the same part number. Check and see if they both are stock parts and if so, they will be the same.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Bethlehem,Pa.
    Posts
    4,049
    Feedback Score
    42 (100%)

    Default

    If I remember ,there isn't two wires for it.If you got 1 wire ground it the gauge should max with the key on,if two jump with a paper clip again it should max.that will tell you the wireing is right.And yes you an get the right one.
    Old Grey Cat to this.88 Cat,5.0 HO, CW mounts,mass air,CI custom cam,afr165's,Tmoss worked cobra intake,BBK shorty's,off road h pipe, magnaflow ex. T-5,spec stage 2 clutch,8.8 373 TC trac loc,che ajustables with bullits on the rear.11" brakes up front. +

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    82
    Feedback Score
    0

    Default

    I'll be replacing my sensor soon (the one that supplies info to the EEC), too.
    I find the terms used by some websites a bit confusing.

    To get it right, is this the sensor I'll need?


    And is this the sender that controls what's shown in the dash?


    So what is this?



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    milan michigan
    Posts
    580
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Default

    i cant find he right one, no parts store around me have it

    88 5.0L aod with duel flowmaster and speedo mod
    88 5.0L H.O with 5 speed R.I.P
    87 3.8L no trans. geting h.o and 5speed (project never ending thunder) started it as of 8-14-10
    96 bronco xl 5.0L 5 speed man4x4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •