Skip to main content
Topic: Rear Underbody Resto/Gas Tank Install (Read 7415 times) previous topic - next topic

Rear Underbody Resto/Gas Tank Install

Well ... the car has been out of commission for over a year now.  It wouldn't start one day and I eventually diagnosed a fuel pressure issue.  Pulled the tank to find the fuel hose inside of the tank had split and thus not allowing the system to build much/any pressure.  In classic "while I'm at it" fashion, I decided to take it further ...

Once I pulled the tank, I figured it was a good time to address some corrosion on the underside of the car.  A little history ... my parents bought the car brand new around Christmas of '84 and pretty much gave it to me when I graduated from high school in '97.  It needed some minor stuff at the time, but they gifted it to me versus trading it in on their next vehicle, and I worked on addressing the minor stuff it needed.  The "bad" thing in all of this was that we lived in northern lower Michigan at the time ... a place where winter can last months (from October to May one year while we lived there).  The car got driven in plenty of foul weather and was exposed to a lot of salty roads.  I tried to keep it clean and wash it, but there's only so much you can do when it's below freezing.  I undercoated it at least twice, but I knew I was just covering up some of the issue.