Skip to main content
Topic: oh SH*T (Read 2422 times) previous topic - next topic

oh SH*T

well heres the stoop.... i put some more brake fluid in my master cylender thinking it was low, and it was dreadfully low, i put some in pushed the brakes a few times with the car running then it goes to the floor.... i turn the car off,push the brake and hear a hissing noise and low and behold.... theres a pddle of brake fluid on the ground.... its behind the passenger back wheel, is there a temporary fix or do you absolutely have to put a brand new hard line in? J.B. Weld? hose and a series of clamps? im new to brake lines ive put new disks and poads on the front but the last time i was even around brake lines i was barely old enough to hold a wrench....

so does anyone have an idea what i can do? i dont have to drive it for a while so its no biggy i dont know where exactly the hole was i was just in a hurry today all i know is its behind the pass. R wheel

Re: oh SH*T

Reply #1
Temp fixes won't work.  Rubber hose will burst under the pressure, JB-weld probably won't bond against brake fluid plus it could contaminate the system.

Reply #2
so.... cut the chunk out and put a new peice in?
or rebuild the entire rear brake system?

Reply #3
If it rusted through in one spot the rest is probabally pretty crusty aswell, best way to check is to get under the car and check for any other small leaks or anywhere rust is flaking off the line. It may just be one spot that is rusted through and you will be able to patch it with a new piece of line and fittings, but if the rest of it isnt looking too hot replace the whole thing.

I ran into the same problem this spring with my fuel line, I thought it was just one small leak but the entire line was toast.