Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 84 bird hop ups

Feedback Score

Default 84 bird hop ups

i have a bone stock 84 5.0 cfi bird. at 140 hp she isnt the best so sode anyone know what i can do to at least take her up to the mustang 170. any advice is helpful

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)

First...WELCOME ..Im rather new to these cars as well but you may start with exhaust? Headers and less restrictive pipes. Others with more knowledge may chime in so far as actual performance mods( if any )... Good luck and post some pics of the Bird... We love pics here.
    87 Tbird LX w/Factory floor shifter 3G upgrade. Tinted Windows...85 Mustang GT steering wheel(non-cruise) 17'' Saleen SC style wheels,Front/Rear TC sway bars/poly bushings & Mustang GT steering rack...'05 Mustang V6 springs...93 Cobra MC & booster, MM adjustable C/C plates, Work In Progress....... ( On The Shelf---HO computer, 19lb injectors, HO cam, BBK headers, Explorer Intake, Cold Air Intake ,Phantom Gauges, Stinger stainless exhaust pipes )

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)

Go to http://www.coolcats.net/ and read all you can, then come back with questions.
    '88 'bird, 1-family owned, original 302 converted to HO, T-5 swap, CHE upper/lower control arms, weld-in SFC's, BBK shorty headers & O/R H-pipe, Dynomax mufflers, fox GT tailpipes, Turbo Coupe 8.8 w/3.73's, 11" front brakes, lowered, Tokico Blue shocks/struts, Chuck W shock adapters and motor mounts, 15:1 rack & PS pump, custom alum. driveshaft, chrome '93 Cobra wheels, Falken tires, 20% tint, close to 190,000 miles!

Feedback Score
    17 (100%)

To make any real power the car will need either a carburetor conversion or a conversion to SEFI. CFI is kind of a dud and there are no performance parts that will work well with that system.