Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Vista Readyboost

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    635
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

    Default Vista Readyboost

    Just got a laptop. HP G60-230US. I am not hating Vista too much. Some things bad some good. My question is does readyboost do much for performance? I have tried it and do not see much difference. My PC has 3GB memory. The most vista can see? I do think if I had less memory readyboost would be more beneficial, or am I missing something? Just use PC to surf web.
    Specs: vista home premium, pentium dual core, 320GB hard drive, 3GB memory. I dumped all the bloatware and it is not a bad laptop for the 449 I paid.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,974
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

    Default

    Just got my dell studio 17 with vista home premium.
    Have never used vista before and have heard many bad things about it,so far it loads from off to completly loaded in 45sec,not bad.
    Haven't had any issues with vista so far,a little bit of getting used to from xp but all is good.
    Don't know about the program you speak of but my vista is pretty quick thus far.
    My laptop had vista 64 from the factory but i had them install vista 32 instead as most programs i have are not compatible with 64.
    Vista 32 only sees a max of 3gb of ram,i have 4gb and my operating system only shows 3gb,this is normal.
    You are right about if you had less ram readyboost may be more benificial,the more ram you have the faster your programs will load and you will be able to open more windows at the same time while maintaining the same speed.
    Sounds like you got a good deal on yours,i paid quite a bit more for mine but i game on it and needed the extra power and bigger screen.
    Specs on mine are:vista home premium 32bit,320gb 5400 rpm hdd,4gb mem,core2 duo at 2ghz,ati 3650 video card,soundblaster audigy hd,wifi wireless n intergrated net card,17" widescreen,backlit keyboard and 9 cell(vs 6 cell)battery.
    I also dumped alot of the factory installed crap(mcaffe,dell junk)and mine runs good as well.
    I hate all the freeware crap they put on new pc's these days which is usually why i build my own desktops,however with the laptop i was limited to buying store bought as you really can't build your own laptop.
    Enjoy,laptops are cool.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Farmingdale, NY
    Posts
    9,052
    Feedback Score
    18 (100%)

    Default

    Vista > XP IMHO.

    I've found that Kodak Easyshare makes it run like ass! That program is on the basement computer and the wife wishes to keep it. Problem is that it loads as an automatic startup program and gunks up the startup something fierce. You can't shut the auto startup feature off on it either.....annoying.
    -- 05 Mustang GT-Whipplecharged !! -- 87 5.0 Trick Flow Heads & Intake - Custom Cam - Many other goodies...3100Lbs...Low12's! http://www.fquick.com/V8Demon

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    635
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by V8Demon View Post
    Vista > XP IMHO.

    I You can't shut the auto startup feature off on it either.....annoying.
    did you try killing the auto start with CCleaner?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    635
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dominator View Post
    Just got my dell studio 17 with vista home premium.
    Have never used vista before and have heard many bad things about it,so far it loads from off to completly loaded in 45sec,not bad.
    Haven't had any issues with vista so far,a little bit of getting used to from xp but all is good.
    Don't know about the program you speak of but my vista is pretty quick thus far.
    My laptop had vista 64 from the factory but i had them install vista 32 instead as most programs i have are not compatible with 64.
    Vista 32 only sees a max of 3gb of ram,i have 4gb and my operating system only shows 3gb,this is normal.
    You are right about if you had less ram readyboost may be more benificial,the more ram you have the faster your programs will load and you will be able to open more windows at the same time while maintaining the same speed.
    Sounds like you got a good deal on yours,i paid quite a bit more for mine but i game on it and needed the extra power and bigger screen.
    Specs on mine are:vista home premium 32bit,320gb 5400 rpm hdd,4gb mem,core2 duo at 2ghz,ati 3650 video card,soundblaster audigy hd,wifi wireless n intergrated net card,17" widescreen,backlit keyboard and 9 cell(vs 6 cell)battery.
    I also dumped alot of the factory installed crap(mcaffe,dell junk)and mine runs good as well.
    I hate all the freeware crap they put on new pc's these days which is usually why i build my own desktops,however with the laptop i was limited to buying store bought as you really can't build your own laptop.
    Enjoy,laptops are cool.
    Sounds like you have a nice laptop there. Thanks for the info.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    templeton ma
    Posts
    3,935
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

    Default

    Vista > XP IMHO.

    I've found that Kodak Easyshare makes it run like ass! That program is on the basement computer and the wife wishes to keep it. Problem is that it loads as an automatic startup program and gunks up the startup something fierce. You can't shut the auto startup feature off on it either.....annoying.
    same experience here with that. Lots of tweaks for vista too speed it up a little. i don't have a problem with it being slow, just a resource hog. it could be quicker. i have had no issues with compatibility and its been very secure. very much so compared to xp.

    my buddy is running the beta for windows 7 and it looks very promising. im thinking about giving it a shot.
    1988 Thunderbird Sport, Former 4.6 DOHC T56 conversion project.

    Rest of the country, Welcome to Massachusettes. Enjoy your stay.

    Halfbreed... Mango Orange Y2K Mustang GT
    FRPP complete 2000 Cobra engine swap, T56 n' junk...
    ~John~

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Utah.
    Posts
    9,143
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by V8Demon View Post
    Vista > XP IMHO.

    I've found that Kodak Easyshare makes it run like ass! That program is on the basement computer and the wife wishes to keep it. Problem is that it loads as an automatic startup program and gunks up the startup something fierce. You can't shut the auto startup feature off on it either.....annoying.
    go to start, then start search. Then type in msconfig. Then go to the startup page.
    Quote Originally Posted by jcassity
    I honestly dont think you could exceed the cost of a new car buy installing new *stock* parts everywhere in your coug our tbird. Its just plain impossible. You could revamp the entire drivetrain/engine/suspenstion and still come out ahead.
    Hooligans!
    1988 Crown Vic wagon. 120K California car. Wifes grocery getter. (junked)
    1987 Ford Thunderbird LX. 5.0. s.o., sn-95 t-5 and an f-150 clutch. Driven daily and going strong.
    1986 cougar.
    lilsammywasapunkrocker@yahoo.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    635
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

    Default

    Thanks everyone for the input

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Farmingdale, NY
    Posts
    9,052
    Feedback Score
    18 (100%)

    Default

    go to start, then start search. Then type in msconfig. Then go to the startup page.
    There's something inherent in the program itself that reverts it back to being a startup program. I'll try what you suggested. Trying to get rid of it through the control panel startup menu is useless. Discussions on the web support this.
    -- 05 Mustang GT-Whipplecharged !! -- 87 5.0 Trick Flow Heads & Intake - Custom Cam - Many other goodies...3100Lbs...Low12's! http://www.fquick.com/V8Demon

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Utah.
    Posts
    9,143
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

    Default

    Give it a try, unless it is buried into windows further then normal, it should stop it from poppping up on start up. I miss the good old days before XP. Back in the day, you could stop your computer from doing things you didn't want it to do. Xp and Vista, it is a "feature".

    I remember when i was in school taking a computer class, and this kid was talking about how much better XP was then windows 98. I had the same basic setup as him, and we ran several side by side comparisons. I had a slightly worse video card and kicked his ass 2 to 1. Xp was a resource hog, Vista, is in a league of its own. I used 22mb or ram on start up using windows 98. Then again, nothing works on windows 98 anymore unless all you do is play 10 year old games and the internet.
    Quote Originally Posted by jcassity
    I honestly dont think you could exceed the cost of a new car buy installing new *stock* parts everywhere in your coug our tbird. Its just plain impossible. You could revamp the entire drivetrain/engine/suspenstion and still come out ahead.
    Hooligans!
    1988 Crown Vic wagon. 120K California car. Wifes grocery getter. (junked)
    1987 Ford Thunderbird LX. 5.0. s.o., sn-95 t-5 and an f-150 clutch. Driven daily and going strong.
    1986 cougar.
    lilsammywasapunkrocker@yahoo.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •