PDA

View Full Version : Transgo shift kit



BadCat
11-29-2004, 04:38 AM
Can I safely remove the tv cable after I install my new shift kit? I heard that you can but I want to be absolutely sure because I don't feel like buying another tranny.

zpyro
11-29-2004, 04:40 AM
I don't think I'd chance it. why would you want to do that? it really isn't hurting anything, and there's a good chance that removing it would fry your tranny by the time you get to the corner.
I have heard someone say that having the shift kit keeps the pressure high enough so that the tranny didn't fry when the TV cable came off accidentally, but like I said, no reason to chance it. trannys aren't cheap (oh how we wish they were :p)

BadCat
11-29-2004, 01:59 PM
That was basically my whole point of getting it. That tv cable has to come off it is stretched too far. I can't adjust it, its superglued, gummed up or something, it wont budge. At Wot I shift around 6k which is way too high. I tried letting off for it to shift but it didn't help any. I still run a full second slower than I used to because of that damn cable.

Ifixyawata
11-29-2004, 06:20 PM
Shiftkit's do not replace the TV cable. Get an aftermarket cable from Lokar.

TurboCoupe50
11-29-2004, 06:42 PM
The Trans-Go shift kit will raise the line pressure to a point that the trans will not slip in normal driving(at least mine does). What will happen if you do not use a cable at all, is the trans will shift waaay to soon. Assuming you have a column shift, and with out it connected to the throttlebody, the TV lever at the tranny is full on causing late/hard shifts. The shift kit will not correct for this, you really need to get another cable.

chrome302jr
11-29-2004, 09:27 PM
What Tom said, I can vouch for this one...Do NOT remove the TV cable. Get a new one and make sure its adjusted properly. With it disconnected you will get really harsh/late shifts.

BadCat
11-30-2004, 08:02 AM
Allright, looks like I'll be ordering the Lokar cable from Jeg's. On Lokar's FAQ page it says you need an OTC tool and a pressure gauge to adjust it properly. What is an OTC tool? And I'm not going to adjust it that way. I figure I will adjust it little by little until I find the perfect shift points.

zpyro
11-30-2004, 11:51 AM
http://www.baumannengineering.com/tvlnkage.htm
http://www.tciauto.com/instructions/431000_inst.htm

when I installed my tranny I had a tranny shop adjust the TV cable, no idea how much it was

TurboCoupe50
12-01-2004, 11:00 PM
Adj the cable so that it is at full travel at full throttle. Set this way there will be no chance of it slipping and burning up.