PDA

View Full Version : Viper tranny need input



88cat
09-30-2005, 09:40 PM
Hey guys got me a viper tranny for very cheap but it needs a rebuild. It spins freely but the input shaft is loose so anyone know anylinks where they sell tranny rebuild kits? Also does anyone know if they sell a bellhousing to adapt the viper tranny to the 2.3? thanks guys lmk. Oh I got the tranny for $100 :D

Ether947
09-30-2005, 10:13 PM
http://www.ddperformance.com/ is the only place I know of that deals with Viper t-56s. You might want to give them a call and see what they can do for you.

Thunder Chicken
09-30-2005, 10:53 PM
I think a Viper tranny would be overkill for a 2.3 - it's pretty beefy, and slinging all that steel around would surely suck some power outta that 2.3. The only advantage the 6 speeds would give you would be very low RPM at highway speed - fifth and sixth are overdrive (sixth is actually somewhere around 0.5:1 or something like that).

I'd like to install a six speed, but only so I could run 3.73's or 4.11's and still be able to drive on the highway, and not behind a 2.3...

88cat
09-30-2005, 11:12 PM
Yea with the 6 speeds I could put some 4.56 gears and still have a decent rpm and brute acceleration.

slamedcat
09-30-2005, 11:29 PM
Manual (http://www.ttcautomotive.com/English/media/pdfs_autogen/T-56_Service_Manual.pdf)

And just about anything else you want to know. (http://www.ttcautomotive.com/English/products/T-56.asp)