PDA

View Full Version : Tranny blew



pedal2themedal
08-06-2005, 07:06 PM
I have a 351ho powered fox body bird with 4.10 gears. My tranny shelled out(didnt like the 4.10s, lol), but i have another fox body in my back yard, but it is a v6.

I ran a search, and it said that the v6 had a c5 in it, but i was under the impression that a c5 was a 3 speed tranny not a 4 (has no overdrive).

Also, i want to make sure that the tranny out of the 6 cyl will fit in my 351 bird.

Lastly, is there a way to identify which tranny u have by the bolt patter or shape of the oil pan on the tranny?

Thanks, Robert

V8Demon
08-07-2005, 12:33 AM
The C5 is what the AOD was based upon and what has now evolved into the 5r55 series of transmissions in use by Ford today. Unfortunately the early C5 variation is marginal at best at coping with a stock SO 5.0 let alone a 5.0 HO or a 351 with 4.10's.

The C5 is indeed a 3 speed transmission and a 3 speed was installed in some 83-86 cougars/t'birds. I am pretty sure it was the C5 that was installed, but I am not 100% certain. Here's a link to some gaskets pics to help you ID your tranny: http://www.transgo.com/fordtid.html

Bird351
08-07-2005, 01:23 AM
If you were in south Florida, and could live without overdrive, I have access to a C6 from another 351W HO.. it should hold up to your needs.

I'll leave the recommendations to the more knowledgeable. :D

Ether947
08-07-2005, 11:17 AM
The C5 is a 3-speed ,just like the C4, with a lock-up torque converter. It can be built just like a C4, and is actually a better candidate as it has better oiling passages and a hardened input shaft to start. It lacks a set of friction plates when compared to the C4 and the valve body can be changed over to an aftermarket C4 as well. If you want to use an aftermarket torque converter then you will need to change the bellhousing over to a C4. And I believe the 3.8 shares the same bellhousing pattern as all small blocks. But it's been awhile since i've thought about the v6 so I can't be certain at the moment.

:)

Tbird232ci
08-07-2005, 08:37 PM
yes, the V6 tranny will bolt up to the 351W

pedal2themedal
08-07-2005, 11:51 PM
the tranny in my v6 is a 4 speed though so it must be a aod right?

thunderjet302
08-11-2005, 04:39 PM
Yep. But the V6 AOD has a weaker "c" servo than the V8 AOD which has a stronger "b" servo. I think that with out some work (ie shift kit, higher stall converter, and a stronger input shaft) and a better "a" (Super Coupe) or "b" servo you'll probibly kill the V6 AOD soon too.

pedal2themedal
08-31-2005, 07:02 PM
I got it in, but it has no overdrive for some reason. It shifts in, but there is nothing there, like it is in neutral. It worked fine last time i drove it in the other car. Could something be plugged up with debri from the shelled out tranny?