PDA

View Full Version : Tranny not working properly



Go Roush
04-27-2005, 10:38 PM
I have just removed my slipping tranny from my 88 Bird with a 5.0.
I put one in out of a 90 Lincoln Mark 7. That tranny was working great in the lincoln. But know that I have it in the bird it wont shift past second gear. wondering if anybody can help me out, and know what my problem is. Thank you

TurboCoupe50
04-28-2005, 12:33 AM
If 1-2 shift is OK it's probably dirt in the valve body. If 2nd is late and hard its probably the TV cable or linkage.

Go Roush
04-28-2005, 08:20 AM
There is no hard shifting just first and second but will not shift to 3rd or 4th. And I did not have the inside of the tranny touched at all. Just took it out of the lincoln, put it to the side, then put it in the thuderbird, torque converter and all. The only extra thing I had to do was shorten the driveshaft, because the lincoln tranny is an inch longer and the stock driveshaft wouldnt go back in.

Nate
04-28-2005, 08:36 AM
dammit lol, i thought i was the only Nate on the message board lol...

did your car origionaly have floor shift? i know the linkage is different between floor shift and colum, and inside the pan their are a few differences for the linkage.

V8Demon
04-28-2005, 08:37 AM
If 1-2 shift is OK it's probably dirt in the valve body

Agreed. Drop that sucker an' clean her out.

Go Roush
04-28-2005, 08:38 AM
No I did go from floor to column, but I turned the arm around on the tranny to make it right. The tranny did not want to shift before I got the linkage right

Nate
04-28-2005, 08:41 AM
how many miles on that aod? i hear alot of tranny guys say that anything over 60k you should reuse the atf otherwise with new stuff the seals leak like a civ. anybody conferm that?

Go Roush
04-28-2005, 08:41 AM
dirt in the valve body, how come it work before in the other car, then without even taken it apart it didnt work properly, it just dont make sense

Go Roush
04-28-2005, 08:42 AM
it has 120000 on the tranny

MasterBlaster
04-28-2005, 08:51 AM
As TurboCoupe50 mentioned, are you sure the TV cable is installed and adjusted properly?

What speed does it shift into 2nd, on very light just-enough-to-get-moving throttle?

Does the shift lever itself move through its full range, and do the other positions match the indicator and work as they should (P, R, N)?

Nate
04-28-2005, 08:53 AM
thats a good point mb, i forgot i'v seen people swap tranny's and that cable dont line up and they think it dosnt shift. i almost fell for that with my neighbors truck last year lol

Go Roush
04-28-2005, 09:17 AM
I do have all linkage hooked up properly, It shifts to second pretty quickly as soon as you get going. The gear selector works fine in all gears and moves freely. It matches up great and when you are going along at 20 some mph, and put it in 1 it will downshift

Go Roush
04-28-2005, 10:03 AM
I was also wondering if it could be electrical

Nate
04-28-2005, 10:35 AM
not unless it was a E4OD and even if the od is dissconnected it should still shift into 3rd

TurboCoupe50
04-29-2005, 03:17 AM
Does it just not shift and stay in 2nd or does it start to free wheel??? Reason I ask is I lost 3rd(and O/D) in my AOD when I broke the inner input shaft at the race track... I'm doubting yours broken, but you didn't loose it or forget to reinstall it??(I doubt that as well, but figured I better ask)...

If it just doesn't shift, then a valvebody problem(stuck 2-3 shift valve) is the most likely cause. You could try the orig tranny V/B in it and see if it will shift(you said it was a '88 it should be the same, '87 earlier are different). If that doesn't fix it, I'd say it will have to come back out...