PDA

View Full Version : Adjusting The Tv Cable



wayfastwhitey87
03-26-2005, 03:05 PM
can anyone tell me how to adjust the tv cable the simplest way.

EricCoolCats
03-26-2005, 03:44 PM
Disconnect the cable from the throttle body lever (whether you have the stock grommet, or the replacement pin and brass bushing). Note how the cable comes out. There should be zero tension on the cable. In other words, if you were to put the cable back in, you should NOT have to pull on it, or push on it. Simply adjust the tension on the cable block until you have no tension (pop up the white tab so the cable will slide), lock it down, put the cable back in and you're good to go. This puts it to factory specs for line pressure.

TurboCoupe50
03-27-2005, 06:36 AM
Here's how I do it(been running mine over 5 years like this on the same trans)... Disconnect the cable a Eric describes, then block the throttle wide open(or have some one hold the pedal to the floor). Next adj the cable to the shortest lenght that will still allow it to to reattach. This will make the tranny shift later and firmer, but will actually improve tranny life. This is especially true if you're gonna race it a lot(like me, was at the track last night) and force the trans to full throttle shifts. If it shifts too late/hard for your taste it can be lengthened up a bit to quicken/soften the shifts.

chrome302jr
03-27-2005, 10:09 PM
Basically like TurboCoupe50 said, with the throttle blade open(WOT) the TV cable should be pulled all the way out. THe throttle and the TV cable should move in a 1:1 ratio. If you want to use a gauge, the gauge should read 2-5psi in park at idle. Later

Ronnie