PDA

View Full Version : whats this....



the_intimidator03
02-26-2005, 07:12 PM
i have the 3.8 and c5 set up and im curious what the rod is on the side of the CFI unit this car is an 84. it is on the drivers side and it goes from throttle cable area down to the transmission...what is it and what happens if i disconnect it from cfi unit? and most of all...do i need it lol

87thunderbirdBlackJack
02-26-2005, 07:18 PM
that would be a kickdown cable i do believe that it helps you shift down and up
and yes you need it

jcassity
02-26-2005, 10:15 PM
that would be the
TV ROD which is like some folks here who are equipped with a TV CABLE

it has nothing to do with not having television in your car.

It has a lot to do with the postion of your internal parts in the tranny that tell it when to go in passing gear.

If you slam down the gas pedal,, what do you think tells the non computerised transmission to downshift to passing gear? That would be the Trottle Valve Rod to rescue you. It just simply follows the postion of the gas pedal otherwise we'd all be shifting our aod's with our column shifter which defeats the purpose of the "Automatic".

Now,, there is a set screw on the top of it. Experiment with it all you like and you will notice if you back out the set screw towards the firewall,, you will shift smooth as glass.
adjust the screw towards the front going clockwise and you will shift harder.
Shifting harder is actually better cause there is less slipping and lag time between gears , ie-fluid transfer through valve bodies is quicker.

yes,, its needed. Yes,, keep your eye open for any of those plastic bushings that may be broken.


the other devices snaped on the CFI linkage are the gas pedal cable and the cruise control cable.

MasterBlaster
02-26-2005, 10:33 PM
???

3.8 and c5
TV ROD
if you back out the set screw towards the firewall,, you will shift smooth as glassI thought C5's had a "standard" kickdown and modulator, not TV?
AODs with a rod adjust like the later cable AODs.

jcassity
02-26-2005, 10:41 PM
i wanted to question that also but i just thought he might be making an assumption that its a c5.

Ifixyawata
02-27-2005, 12:12 AM
Tbird BlackJack, your sig is 400kb.... someone needs to optimize it so it doesn't take so long to load. I'm on cable and it takes a while for it to show up.

the_intimidator03
02-27-2005, 01:34 AM
well yall thanks for your help...but seems as if there are mixed views on it being a TV or kick down.... and it does wobble liek crazy back n forth and it was repaired.....it broke and they put a larger peice of pipe on it and welded it and in the process lengthened it i beleive since i do not get WOT with it attached.

MasterBlaster
02-27-2005, 05:37 AM
Tbird BlackJack, your sig is 400kb437,142 actually.
Try it with dial-up sometime. :disappoin
Took me about a minute to create 87k 43k & 35k jpg versions using various compressions, plus a 100k gif. Looks like png is about the biggest you can get, next to bmp.

and it does wobble liek crazy back n forthIt did the same on Mom's 85 LTD, though it had an AOD. You don't want the ends so tight it binds. But wobbly bits do worry some folks, probably why they went to cables.