PDA

View Full Version : Im broke, but I should have a pretty tough AOD



chrome302jr
01-17-2005, 06:02 PM
Well guys, after much contemplation on which direction I would be taking as far as transmissions, I finally made a decision...a self built AOD. I know the C4s are tough but I need OD. Buying an entire Lentech unit would be a bit steep and I dont want any other Valve Body configuration. Lets face it guys, the AOD shift pattern blows. Even if you modify the VB to shift 1-2-3, you still have no way of holding out OD which would piss me the hell off since I drive 45mph all day long.

I just ordered a Lentech stage II valve body with the 1-2-3 shift pattern and OD electronic lock out. I also ordered a Lentech hardened input shaft since I will be running a lockup TCI 3000stall converter.

I purchased the master rebuild kit from www.ford-aod.com, they have any part you could want for an AOD. It includes the Red Alto clutches, yadda yadda...

My local trans guy Bert is gonna charge me $500 in labor to install everything.

At the same time I also have to convert to floor shift. I was originally going to go with just a B&M hammer shifter and eliminate the center console. As nice as that does sound, there is a large hole in the carpet that will be exposed so Im now trying to gather stock parts like linkage and the stock shifter. If anyone has these parts let me know. Ive had bad experiences with certain ppl on here*cough cough* telling me they would sell stuff and not following though. Anyway, cant wait to get it together. I will keep ya'll posted. Later

Ronnie

Tbird232ci
01-17-2005, 06:07 PM
i personally dont have a floor shifter, but ill look around at a junkyard for you, there *may* be a floor shifted car still around

i also heard you can use a stang shifter/cable/bracket assembly from an AOD car

chrome302jr
01-17-2005, 06:09 PM
i also heard you can use a stang shifter/cable/bracket assembly from an AOD car

If this is true than it would make life easier. Can anyone verify this? Thanks for the info.

Ronnie

Tbird232ci
01-17-2005, 06:12 PM
also, are you going to add a console or just have the exposed carpet?

chrome302jr
01-17-2005, 06:26 PM
also, are you going to add a console or just have the exposed carpet?

I will be adding a console. I did a test fit of just the shifter, I dont like the looks.

cougarman
01-17-2005, 06:28 PM
The Hammer shifter is an awesome shifter. I had one in my 86, and it fit in the console, I just modified the shifter cover that comes with the Hammer. In my 88 I have the "console" Hammer and it fits fine. Just so ya know, the Hammer is ratchet shift in 1-2-3, and the console hammer is full ratchet. :grinno:

chrome302jr
01-17-2005, 06:34 PM
The Hammer shifter is an awesome shifter. I had one in my 86, and it fit in the console, I just modified the shifter cover that comes with the Hammer. In my 88 I have the "console" Hammer and it fits fine. Just so ya know, the Hammer is ratchet shift in 1-2-3, and the console hammer is full ratchet. :grinno:

I would like to put just the Hammer general shifter, you know the one that is not made for the Mustang console but Im not sure how it would look. Also I would still have to deal with the hole in the carpet and wiring harness for the windows/seats.

cougarman
01-17-2005, 06:45 PM
Well if you use a console, you will just have to cut down the black shifter cover that comes with the Hammer. Then you fasten it down on top of the console trim piece and you're done. :boobies:
(I trimmed mine about an inch below the prnd21 plate in the pic.)

chrome302jr
01-17-2005, 06:51 PM
Well if you use a console, you will just have to cut down the black shifter cover that comes with the Hammer. Then you fasten it down on top of the console trim piece and you're done. :boobies:
(I trimmed mine about an inch below the prnd21 plate in the pic.)

The thing is I wouldnt be using a console, I would just fasten it directly to the floor. I wanted to do that in order to prevent installing the entire bulky stock console. Ive had a TC and the console rattled too much for me.

cougarman
01-17-2005, 06:53 PM
Oh ok, I misunderstood, thought you were gonna use the console. :slap: :dunce:

Tbird232ci
01-17-2005, 08:13 PM
well, the factory console isnt bad when you re-glue a few spots, ive had to do that, and now its nice and silent

plus, i love how the factory console somewhat divides the interior