PDA

View Full Version : T3/Downpipe Problem



tc²
11-28-2006, 10:39 AM
I got the car back together, but it's running so rich it dies after 10 seconds or so. I believe this is because I have a pretty good exhaust leak between the turbo (Garrett T3) and downpipe. This would play with the 02 Sensor, correct? Any other problems? (I just installed a new head and this turbo.) The leak I believe is due to my very unprofessional widening of the stock IHI flange holes on the bracket that holds the turbo to the downpipe. I was thinking of getting a new downpipe from Stinger, anyway. Do you think this will solve my problem? Thanks

Chuck W
11-28-2006, 12:30 PM
Is the leak between the turbo and the outlet elbow or elbow and the DP? Sounds like it's between the elbow and the DP...which is after the O2 sensor.

What else did you change? Did you reconnect the orange ground wire to the turbo?

tc²
11-28-2006, 12:52 PM
Elbow and dp. I thought maybe that even though it's after the sensor, the leak could still play havoc with it. And yea, the orange ground wire- where does that hook into the turbo?

ipsd
11-28-2006, 03:49 PM
If it is between the elbow and the houseing try adding some washers on there to push the flange piece up further. I had to do this on mine to make it seal good. I just kept running out of threads on the stud that sticks down.

Tbird232ci
11-28-2006, 05:06 PM
Ive run mine without a downpipe, and it didnt run rich.

That orange ground wires needs to be bolted to the turbo, on one of the compressor housing bolts.

tc²
11-30-2006, 10:37 AM
Couldn't find an orange wire whatsoever, so i made my own. I spidered it into the bolt in the pic. Would this be the cause for an
O2 sensor malfunction?

Chuck W
11-30-2006, 11:29 AM
OK, well what did you connect the other end of the wire to?

You need put and eyelet on that wire, and it would be better to not connect it where you have it.

Yes, not having the O2 sensor ground connected will cause the car to run poorly.

tc²
11-30-2006, 01:30 PM
The other end of the wire is on the passenger fenderwell. Both ends have eyelets. Where would be a better place to connect it?

Chuck W
11-30-2006, 02:01 PM
Ummm...it needs to be connected to the ECU......not the fenderwell. If the stock ECU and wiring is still in the car, then that wire is there.

Did you replace the turbo? Was there a wire attached to it to begin with? Normally it is attached to one of the bolts on the turbo inlet.

tc²
12-01-2006, 11:48 AM
Ha, thanks. I'm kind of a rookie, as if you haven't noticed... I just installed a T3 on my '87. There was no wire attached and I didn't see one on the IHI either. I'll try to find it tonight. Where is the ECU located?

Chuck W
12-01-2006, 12:49 PM
The ECU is located in the pass kick panel. That wire should be hanging around the pass strut tower. I'm not certain what the pin # is at the ECU of hand, but I can check if you wind up having to run a completely new wire.

tc²
12-03-2006, 05:22 PM
Maybe I'm way off on this one, but I found this orange wire that happened to reach the turbo perfectly. After I hooked it up, voila the car RUNS! Problem is, it jumps directly to 3k rpms and steadily rises... Any other ideas?

Tbird232ci
12-03-2006, 05:52 PM
Pull codes yet? Sounds like a TPS issue.

Chuck W
12-03-2006, 06:01 PM
That's the right wire it looks like.

On the other issue, a big vac leak perhaps? (after the turbo)

tc²
12-03-2006, 06:12 PM
Oh yea... well I haven't fixed the DP problem yet.

Chuck W
12-03-2006, 06:24 PM
After the turbo on the INTAKE side....

I don't know what you had taken apart, ect. So it could be anything. The exhaust leak is not going to cause this issue.

tc²
12-03-2006, 06:58 PM
Well i replaced the head, so alot of things were taken apart. I'm thinking it might be between the head and the lower intake-I did not replace the gasket there... I reused the turbo to manifold metal gasket.

Chuck W
12-03-2006, 07:16 PM
It's almost one you'd hear I would imagine.

Check your TPS and run codes.

tc²
12-04-2006, 09:03 PM
Ah, enlightenment. I guess I was so excited that the car ran that I failed to hear the windstorm coming from my engine. I'll get right on that...

tc²
12-05-2006, 12:59 PM
As for the DP problem, it's almost as if the downpipe has a larger diameter that the down elbow on the turbo. Is this possible? It fit the IHI fine.

Chuck W
12-05-2006, 01:02 PM
The DP's on the IHI's were 2-1/2", the DP's on the T3 cars were 2-1/4". So yes, it's possible, but folks swap the IHIs for T3's all the time.

tc²
12-05-2006, 02:52 PM
Ok. I knew people swapped these turbos alot, I can't believe noone ever's acknowledged the problem (I guess noone has ever had much trouble with it). I'll have to find a gasket or something I guess. I might get a 3 in DP from Stinger...

tc²
12-06-2006, 10:37 AM
Well I got the car on the road last night. Yet the battery has been acting up and died, I'll have to stick the charger on it later... On to another gremlin: the turbo will only spool up to about 6 psi and then it just drops off--it doesn't hold at 6. It will spool up to 6psi and then just cut out...Not sure why?